Nurses Foundation of Wisconsin Announces Award Recipients

NFW - Nurses Foundation of Wisconsin

The Nurses Foundation of Wisconsin (NFW) has selected the awardees for the 2021 Research Grant and Educational Scholarships Awards.  WNA members were notified of the call for applications with the submission deadline of October 1, 2021.


The NFW Research Grant Awardee is Kathleen Elertson, MSN, RN, DNP, APNP.  Dr. Elertson is from West Bend and is the Interim Director of Post-Licensure Program, for University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh. Her research project title is Evaluation of Simulation Training on Screening, Brief Intervention, and Referral to Treatment for Adolescent Substance Abuse in Pre and Post Licensure Nursing Programs.  NFW awarded Dr. Elertson $1,000 to support her research.





The NFW Educational Scholarship Committee selected two WNA members to receive $1,000 each to support their educational goals. The recipients are as follows:


Stacey Stevens, Mdiv, BSN, RN, is from Cadott and is currently enrolled in a DNP at the University of Wisconsin – Eau Claire. She is a graduate assistant for the College of Nursing and a staff nurse at Dove Healthcare – Wissota Health & Regional Vent Center. Stacey is pursuing a DNP in clinical adult and gerontology which she will use in her role as a nurse educator.  






Abby Hammes, MSN, RN, BC, is from Madison and is currently enrolled in the Nursing PhD program in Policy and Leadership at the University of Wisconsin – Madison.  She is currently a teaching assistant for the School of Nursing. 






The awardees will be recognized at WNA’s Annual Meeting on Friday, January 21, 2022, in Madison. Congratulations to all the NFW recipients!