APRN Modernization Act Moving Forward

APRN Modernization Act Logo

WNA and other statewide associations representing Advanced Practice Registered Nurses in Wisconsin have formed the Wisconsin APRN Coalition and are pleased to support the APRN Modernization Act – LRB 1538/P4 authored by Senator Devin LeMahieu, and Representative Mike Rohrkaste. Currently the legislative draft is circulating for co-sponsorship. The APRN Modernization Act is a legislative proposal that will formally and legally define and describe the role, responsibility and accountability of Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRNs). The consumers of their services will have safeguards that the requirements for licensure provide greater public protection.

In Wisconsin there are two subsets of Advanced Practice Nurses that are recognized in state statute, one is licensed as certified nurse midwife and the other has a state issued certificate that provides authority to prescribe. There is however, another subset of APRNs who practice as advanced practice registered nurses but are not identified in state statute because they do not prescribe. The APRN Modernization Act combines all APRNs under one umbrella.

There are four distinct types or roles for Advanced Practice Registered Nurses which are:

Certified Nurse Midwife (CNM)
Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetist (CRNA)
Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS)
Nurse Practitioner (NP)

The APRN Modernization Act incorporates a regulatory model that was developed by the National Council of States Board of Nursing which is being adopted across the country. APRN Modernization Act defines the practice and the criteria that are required to be licensed as an Advanced Practice Registered Nurse.

The criteria are as follows:

  • The schools preparing the APRN must be accredited.
  • The APRN must have and maintain national board certification, in the role for which she/he has been educationally prepared.
  • The APRN has graduated with a master’s degree in nursing or higher.
  • Has malpractice liability insurance coverage.
  • Obtain at least 16 hours of continuing education in either pharmacology or therapeutics.
  • Must register with the Board of Nursing of her/his intent to prescribe.

Post a comment